Hi all,
todays article is going to be about music and mathematics ;-) About 5 months ago I started playing guitar. It has a great sound and through time it became my great source of morale and positive thinking. But as my playing got a little quicker, the board finish started peeling off. After all, the guitar is older than I am. So I wanted to get some pickguards to overlay the hole in finish and to prevent further damage.

I have to say that I am a left handed and I am playing a right handed guitar upside down. Just like Bill Staines for example. Well, not “just” like him, of course. And like him, I also wanted to have pickguards on both sides, so that my guitar is protected from my right handed friends, too. The guitar pickguards are made for one side only, just like everything in this right handed world (or at least Czech Republic). So I had to order the pickguard material and cut the pickguards myself.

Whenever I do something I want to make it unique and original and this was the time to practice the golden ratio (thanks a lot Rohan Shravan for infecting me with this obsession ;-) ). The golden ratio is the one perfect ratio. Just like ears enjoy certain ratios in sound waves (chords), some ratios look more pleasant to the eyes. Also the golden ratio has some nice recursive properties (read more about golden ratio). My background is mathematics and computers (among many others) so I was working in the direction of some golden ratio based black and white (stencil) fractal. Since elements on the guitar are black, especially the bridge, I wanted to integrate the bridge seamlessly into the design. Also, I did not want my design to be symmetrical in any way. I wanted to create chaos. This was the result.

I really like it because it also resembles pixels (but only on the first sight). And then it makes your mind wonder, why the seemingly unrelated lines concur. If you like it too, I can post the design here (probably in a DXF format).

